How To Build A Fan Base In 3 Months — The $5 A Day Facebook Music Marketing Strategy

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Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

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You can produce the greatest music in the World but if it doesn’t reach the right people, then what was the point?

Facebook is a great platform for artists and music professionals who are looking to build a fan base. Facebook’s advertising features are very effective when it comes to reaching the right people and building an audience. No matter if you’re an established artists or just beginning your journey. The $5 A Day Facebook Music Marketing Strategy can help you to build a fan base in a short amount of time.

A lot of artists have this belief that you need to have a huge budget for online advertising — the reality is — you don’t. For just $5 a day, musicians can execute Facebook ad campaigns and build a solid foundation for future experimentation on the social media platform.

The audiences you build through Facebook’s ad campaigns can be saved and used at later dates for music releases, shows and selling merchandise.

This is a great strategy for artists who are just starting out and need to test the waters. If you don’t know your audience or need to build an audience. Starting small is the best route to take.

The $5 Facebook Music Marketing Strategy will cost you about $150 a month and you will have the necessary data to continue your growth as an artists.

“Prosperity depends on Investments!” — Nick Wyatt

Depending your brand objectives or goals, you can use Facebook Advertising to raise awareness for your brand, get people to like your page or funnel traffic to other monetized platforms such as SoundCloud or YouTube. This is why having a carefully constructed ROI can work wonders. Check the article below that I wrote about ROI (Return On Investment) and ROT (Return On Time).

If you need any help or assistance, feel free to reach out and connect with me at

Facebook ad campaigns are a great way for artists to take control of their marketing efforts. If you’re new to social media advertising or have run ads before on the platform, Facebook provides an distinctive opportunity for artists to grow given Facebook Messenger, Facebook Pages and its Events feature.

If you’re a local artists or a national act — Facebook is a great place to start advertising because you can target users based on their profile information, demographic, location, etc.

I believe that it’s time to change how artists and music professionals view paid advertising in the music and entertainment industry. There’s a huge difference between ‘building an audience’ and ‘creating content for an already established audience’. It is imporant that you know the difference. I speak about this extensively in my article about Young M.A and building a fan base below.

As with any business, you will have overhead expenses and costs associated with operations. If you’re a touring artist or just beginning to perform live. In my opinion, Facebook advertising is vital in your long term success as a musician. Paid advertising on the social media platform should be viewed in the same light that you would view — booking a venue to perform. It’s about getting your content in front of the right people, building relationships and continuously creating value for your brand.

Now let’s deep dive into ‘How To Build A Fan base In 3 Months — The $5 A Day Facebook Music Marketing Strategy’

Facebook Ad Campaign Setup

Before you begin advertising you will want to setup a Facebook Pixel account where you can track, measure and retarget your users who have viewed your video through Facebook ads. Here’s a cool article, “How to Remarket To Your YouTube Viewers with Facebook Ads” that deep dives into the full process or remarketing and retargeting users who have already engaged with your content, be sure to check it out.

Facebook Pixel is a great way to measure your ads performance to your website or any other music streaming platform. For example SoundCloud, Apple Music or Spotify can be tracked, measured and improved. So this is an essential piece of the puzzle when beginning your campaign.

Facebook Ad Benchmarks

After you have setup Facebook Pixel, now it’s time to take a look at “Benchmarks”. These are set points in place to measure your ads success within your Facebook Ad Campaign. Before you begin it’s very important that you know what success looks like for a Facebook ad. This will help you to improve or adjust your setup in your next Facebook Advertising Campaign.

For example, the Average Click-Rate (CTR) across all industries is 0.90%. The highest CTR is 1.61% (Legal) and the lowest is 0.47% (Employment & Job Training)

Let’s take a look at Facebook Ad Performance Benchmarks as a whole:

  • Average Click-Through Rate (CTR) on Facebook by industry
  • Average Cost per Click (CPC) on Facebook by industry
  • Average Conversion Rate (CVR) on Facebook by industry
  • Average Cost per Action (CPA) on Facebook by industry

The percentages are Facebook metrics across different industries. Music and Entertainment industries are not identified within the Facebook metrics that are listed. So using these charts are a great way to experiment with how your Facebook ads are performing against other industries.

Let’s take a look at the different Facebook Ad benchmarks and the accompanying charts.

Average Click-Through Rate on Facebook

The first Facebook Ad benchmark to take a look at is the average Click-Through Rate (CTR). A Click-Through Rate is when a person clicks on your ad and visits your website, SoundCloud or YouTube.

Although the music and entertainment industry is not listed as a Facebook metric on the accompanying charts below. The music and entertainment industry do share a common interest & relationship with the other high CTRs such retail (1.59%), apparel (1.24%), beauty (1.16%) and fitness (1.01%).

Facebook provides this visual dynamic where your advertisement stands alone on a person’s social feed, therefore garnering more attention. For artists who are using high-quality images and video your advertisements stand to perform better because Facebook and Instagram are such highly visual platforms.

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Average Cost Per Click (CPC) on Facebook

The second Facebook Ad benchmark we’re going to take a look at is the Average Cost Per Click (CPC). This is the price that you pay every time a person clicks on your Facebook ad.

You might be asking what’s the relationship between CPC and CTR?

CPC — Cost Per Click includes the following the actions:

  • Clicks to view a video on another website (YouTube)
  • Clicks to Facebook canvas apps
  • Clicks to install an app
  • Call-to-action clicks that go to another website (i.e., “Shop Now”)
  • Clicks to visit another website (SoundCloud, Spotify, Tidal, etc.)

CTR — The Click-through rate is measured by the ratio of clicks to impressions. For example, if the number of impressions is 30,000 and the number of clicks is 60, then CTR=60/30,000=0.2%.

The average cost per click is $1.72 across all industries. This is important to know because the music and entertainment industry isn’t listed below. If you’re running a CPC campaign it’s essential to understand how to manage your advertising budget.

The highest CPC is reserved for Finance at $3.77 and lowest goes to apparel at $0.45 per click. Larger audiences equal more clicks. That is why it is important to keep track of your cost per click during your Facebook Ad Campaign. This will help you identify what works and what doesn’t.

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Average Conversion Rates on Facebook

The next Facebook Ad benchmark we’re going to take a look at is the Average Conversion Rate (CVR). This is measured by the percentage of people from your targer audience that completes a desired action.

Let’s say that you are running a Facebook ad and you want a number of people from your target audience to purchase a piece of merchandise from your website. The total number of people who make a purchase after clicking on your ad is your conversion rate.

For artists you will want to your conversion rate to fall anywhere between 9.21% and 14.29%. A high conversion rate means that people are taking action and this is where your Facebook Pixel comes in handy.

The average CVR across all industries is 9.21% and the highest CVR is 14.29% (fitness). If your conversion rate is lower than 2.31% (technology). Then it is time to revisit your ad setup and see what can be improved for next go around.

Facebook Remarketing can also help you improve your conversion rates if you are consistently getting the same results.

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Average Cost Per Action on Facebook

The last Facebook Ad benchmark we’re going to discuss is the Average Cost Per Action (CPA). As discussed previously with the CTR and the CPC. The Average Conversion Rate shares a similar relationship with Cost Per Action.

It is basically defined as, ‘How much did it cost you to get this person to take action after clicking on your ad and visiting your website?’ This action could be defined as a music stream, video view, subscribe, follow, etc.

While calculating your CPA, keep in mind that in the music and entertainment industry you have to note the lifetime value of a new fan who might develop into a “super fan”.

Nipsey Hussle was great at fan segmentation and a big believer in Kevin Kelly’s 1000 true fans. Check out the article below to learn how to turn 1000 true fans into 6 figures.

The average cost per action (CPA) for Facebook ads across all industries is $18.68. This is a metric that you want to remain as low as possible. If you take a look at the education industry, their average CPA is $7.85. So for any advertiser that is offering educational services. Facebook and Instagram is a great place to target new students or those interested in furthering their education.

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Creating Your Ad: The Basics

Now that we have went over the four Facebook Ad Benchmarks. Let’s take a look at creating your first ad. You will begin in Facebook Ad Manager or Facbook Business Manager.

Facebook allows you to setup your advertisement campaign in three phases.

Let’s walk through them.

Phase 1 — Campaign Name

Once you’re in Ads Manager, you will hit the “Create” button and have the option to “Create New Campaign or Use Existing Campaign”.

After choosing “Create New Campaign”. You will choose your ‘Campaign Objective’ and you will have a number of options to choose from such as Awareness, Consideration and Conversion.

I selected ‘Traffic’ which is under ‘Consideration’.

Once you have made your choice. You will be able to Name your Ad campaign, fill out the campaign details and set the campaign budget. All of these items can be revisited and adjusted.

You will also be given the option to perform A/B tests within your campaigns. This is where you choose which campaigns to compare. In hopes of finding and identifying indicators that could pinpoint what works or what doesn’t work.

Next, your Facebook Campaign Budget Optimization is where you will choose between your Lifetime Budget or a Daily Budget.

Phase 2 — Ad Set Name

This is where you will choose your Ad Set Name, this is also the section where you can choose the ‘Dynamic Creative’ option. This is a feature where Facebook automatically generates headlines or images that are optimized for your audience.

This section also includes your “Budget & Schedule” this is where you can set the duration of your ad. As well as setting up the ad spend limit.

You will also be able to choose your audience or create new audiences for your ad set. You will also be able to see your overall audience definition and estimated daily results based on the selections you made in Phase 1.

Facebook Audience Targeting

When choosing your audiences, Facebook gives you the following options:

Location, Age, Gender and Detailed Targeting.

For artists who are touring, this comes in handy when you’re prepping for a show or promoting a new project.

You will be able to target the city or state, age range, gender and interests (music, genre).

Facebook’s Automatic Placements

This is a great recommendation for people who want to test out new optimization tools within Facebook. You will be giving Facebook permission to distribute your ad across a number of platforms based on the likelihood that people will engage with them.

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Source —

Optimization & Delivery

The last section is “Optimization & Delivery”. This is where you choose the event that you want Facebook to optimize. You will be able to make choices between Landing Page Views, Link Clicks, Daily Unique Reach, Impressions, etc.

You will want to set you cost control as well to help you manage your budget. Selecting this option will give you the ability to choose from CPC or Impressions.

Phase 3 — Ad Name

This is the section of your campaign where you will design your ad. This includes choosing which Facebook page or Instagram account to associate with your ad.

You will be able to select images and input your website’s URL. Facebook also provides you with the option to optimize your creative as well. This means choosing the images for people who will most likely interact with your account.

Take the time to study this section as well. You can come up with different copywriting for your ad. You will always want to see what works and what doesn’t work.

This is a great section to experiment with as far the different copy and images that you can use. You will also be able to check out the different previews associated with your ads.

Take full advantage of “How To Build A Fan base In 3 Months — The $5 A Day Facebook Music Marketing Strategy”. For artists this is a great way to build your fan base and test out what works.

For artists it’s important to plan and think towards the future. If you plan on touring and visiting cities in your state or region, Facebook Ad campaigns are a great way to reach people and expand your brand.

Another great tool for artists is Facebook Audience Insights. This is a great resource if you need help defining your demographic or if you just want to view different audiences and who to potentially target.

Now that you have a clear understanding of ‘The $5 A Day Facebook Music Marketing Strategy’, it’s time to rinse and repeat.

This is what I would call a repeatable lifecycle, once you have created a process in Facebook advertising. The only thing left to do is execute. Take action on a daily basis and adjust accordingly.

“When executing your daily tasks: keep it small, keep it defined and always put yourself in a position to win.”

— Nick Wyatt

If you’re interested in learning more or joining the conversation feel free to sign up for our monthly Newsletter or join our Facebook group. You can also follow me on Twitter!

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Entrepreneur based in Minneapolis, MN. I write about Music, Inspiration, Economics & Business. Website: & Newsletter:

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